Minnesota Power logo

We offer Community Involvement Scholarships for high school students that demonstrate outstanding volunteerism and New Generation Scholarships for college students in fields that match the region’s workforce needs.

Applications for 2016 are now being accepted.

2015 Scholarship Recipients

2015 Minnesota Power Scholarship Recipients

Since 1997, more than 800 students have received MP Foundation scholarships totaling more than $2 million. Following are the 2015 scholarship recipients.

Community Involvement Scholarships
Twenty area high school seniors received $2,500 Community Involvement scholarships recognizing their dedication in giving back to the communities where they live as well as their good academic record.

The recipients are: Gavin Becker of Nevis, Naomi Bray of Bovey, McKinley Hain of Marshall, Rudolph Hummel of Hermantown, Taylor King of Eveleth-Gilbert, Elissa Kinney of Mountain Iron-Buhl, Marissa Kinzer or Aitken, Jordan Kleist of Brainerd, Claire Levar of Ely Memorial, Kjersten Lisak of Superior, Emily Matlack of Carlton, Meaghan O’Connor of Denfeld, Jesse Polson of Superior, Catherine Posch of Duluth East, Daniel Schnobrich of Hermantown, Sydney Stock of Duluth East, Dawn Swartz of Pillager, Kristiina Thums of William Kelley and Samantha Wormley of Nevis.

New Generation Scholarships
The 23 New Generation scholars will be awarded $2,500 for those pursuing a four-year degree and $1,000 for those pursuing a two-year degree. These recipients will be graduating in fields that align with the region’s workforce needs.

Bachelor’s degree — $2,500 each: Brenden Bungert, University of Minnesota-Duluth (UMD); Natalie Burger, University of Wisconsin-Superior; Andrew Eerdmans, University of North Dakota (UND); Trenton Egan, UND; Nicholas Ferrell, College of St. Scholastica (CSS); Ryan Ferrell, CSS; Katelin Goebel, UMD; Leena Hauta, CSS; Jack Heichel, UND; Justine Herberg, Bismarck State University; Samuel Hosszu, UMD; Spencer Johnson, UMD; Joseph Korpi, Iron Range Engineering (IRE); Lino Rauzi, UMD; Samantha Ritten, UND; Claire Schumacher, IRE, and Barbara Vernig, IRE.

Associate’s degree — $1,000 each: Clay Montag, Lake Region State College (LRSC); Laura Ostman, Itasca Community College; Cody Quigley, Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College; Matthew Stromquist, Fond du Lac Tribal Community College; Coralee Thilges, Lake Superior College; John Tweed, LRSC, and Amanda Wiemer, Central Lake College.

Other scholarships
Also recognized at the banquet were students from the University of Minnesota-Duluth, Itasca Community College, University of Wisconsin-Superior, St. Olaf College and the University of St. Thomas who receive other scholarships funded through Minnesota Power.

YouTube FaceBook Twitter
Minnesota Power is a BBB Accredited Electric Company in Duluth, MN
FalconCam LakeCam Outage Center

Copyright © 2016 ALLETE, Inc., All Rights Reserved.